Research at the Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies

The Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies currently has one structural focal point and three project-related thematic clusters.

ReConstructing Sex

(Structural research focal point)
The research focal point ReConstructing Sex, jointly developed by the Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies, is devoted to the consideration of the biological and psychological dimensions of gender. On the one hand, the psychological significance of physical gender differences is examined. On the other hand, the dialogue between gender studies and the natural sciences, which was often neglected as a result of feminist criticism of science, will be taken up again in order to explore ways in which the natural sciences can contribute to clarifying the multidimensionality of gender. The aim is to understand better how the respective perspectives on sex and gender can be taken into account in our different fields of specialization.
For the academic activities within the framework of this research focal point, see the complete list of scientific events at the Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies.

Gender, Religion and Politics

(Project-related thematic cluster)
Generalizing assumptions about the dynamics and consequences of modernization processes have proved to be in need of revision, especially with regard to religion and gender. On the one hand, in a historical longitudinal perspective, the entanglement of processes of secularization and sacralization can be observed. On the other hand, gender inequality is constantly reconfigured in secular as well as religious contexts. The cluster bundles research on colonial and postcolonial constellations of gender, religion and politics from a historically and regionally comparative perspective.
For the academic activities within the framework of this thematic cluster, see the complete list of scientific events at the Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies.

Knowledge Scapes

(Project-related thematic cluster)
The thematic cluster "Knowledge Scapes" brings together research interests dealing with questions of the history of science and knowledge systems in the MENA region. It deals both with historical forms of exchange and acquisition of new forms of knowledge and with local and regional knowledge cultures in the context of globalized power asymmetries.
For the academic activities within the framework of this thematic cluster see the complete list of scientific events at the Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies.

Norms and Orders

(Project-related thematic cluster)

(Gender) norms and (gender) orders play a crucial role in the development of historically differentiated systems of gender relations. On the one hand, they provide the constitutive rules that enable, stabilize and reproduce social action, symbolic representations and subject formations. On the other hand, normative conceptions of law and justice, equality, freedom, solidarity and democracy form the horizon for emancipatory gender politics in the past and present and unfold a transformative and critical impact in this function.
In the project-related thematic cluster "Norms and Orders", the connection between gender and normative orders is reflected both from a historical-analytical and a normative-critical perspective with a view to theory formation and political structures, especially in Switzerland and the MENA region.
For the academic activities within the framework of this thematic cluster, see the complete list of scientific events at the Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies.

Completed Projects

Gender - Culture - Difference (2010 - 2017)
Since colonial times, gender and sexuality have played an important role in hegemonic self-constructions and forms of othering. In an increasingly globalized world, they are the subject of political interventions and culturalizing representations. The thematic cluster "Gender and Constructions of Cultural Difference" pools interdisciplinary projects and academic activities on gender issues from a transcultural historical perspective. It reflects the specific profile of Gender Studies at the UZH, with its focus on the humanities and cultural studies on the one hand, and the non-European focus on the other.
For the academic activities within the framework of this research focus see the complete list of scientific events organized at the Chair of Gender Studies and Islamic Studies.

Forschung am Lehrstuhl Gender Studies und Islamwissenschaft

Am Lehrstuhl Gender Studies und Islamwissenschaft gibt es aktuell einen strukturellen Arbeitsschwerpunkt und drei projektbezogene Themencluster.

ReConstructing Sex

(Struktureller Arbeitsschwerpunkt)

Der am Lehrstuhl für Gender Studies und Islamwissenschaft gemeinsam entwickelte Arbeitsschwerpunkt ReConstructing Sex fokussiert auf die Berücksichtigung der biologischen und psychischen Dimensionen von Geschlecht. Einerseits wird hier nach der psychischen Bedeutung von körperlichen Geschlechtsdifferenzen gefragt. Andererseits wird der in der Folge der feministischen Wissenschaftskritik zu kurz gekommene Dialog der Gender Studies mit den Naturwissenschaften neu aufgenommen um zu fragen, was die Naturwissenschaften zur Klärung der Mehrdimensionalität von Geschlecht beitragen können. Ziel ist es, besser zu verstehen, wie den unterschiedlichen Perspektiven auf Geschlecht Rechnung getragen werden kann.

Gender, Religion und Politik

(Projektbezogener Themencluster)

Generalisierende Annahmen über Dynamiken und Folgen von Modernisierungsprozessen haben sich gerade mit Blick auf Religion und Geschlechterverhältnisse als revisionsbedürftig erwiesen. In einer historischen Längsschnittperspektive sind einerseits die Verschränkung von Prozessen der Säkularisierung und der Sakralisierung zu beobachten. Andererseits wird Geschlechterungleichheit in säkularistischen wie religiösen Kontexten laufend neu konfiguriert. Der Themen-Cluster bündelt in historisch und regional vergleichender Perspektive Forschungen zu kolonialen und postkolonialen Konstellationen von Geschlecht, Religion und Politik.

Knowledge Scapes

(Projektbezogener Themencluster)

Der Themen-Cluster „Knowledge Scapes“ bündelt Forschungsinteressen, die sich mit Fragen der Wissenschaftsgeschichte in der MENA Region befassen. Dabei geht es sowohl um historische Formen des Austauschs und der Aneignung von neuen Wissensbeständen als auch um die Erforschung lokaler bzw. regionaler Wissenskulturen im Kontext globaler Machtasymmetrien.

Normen und Ordnungen

(Projektbezogener Themencluster)

Für die Herausbildung von historisch vielfältigen Geschlechterverhältnissen spielen (Geschlechter-)Normen und (Geschlechter-)Ordnungen eine zentrale Rolle. Sie stellen einerseits die konstitutiven Regeln zur Verfügung, die soziales Handeln, symbolische Repräsentationen und Subjektbildungen ermöglichen, stabilisieren und reproduzieren. Zugleich bilden normative Konzeptionen von Recht und Gerechtigkeit, Gleichheit, Freiheit, Solidarität und Demokratie den Horizont für emanzipatorische Geschlechterpolitiken in Geschichte und Gegenwart und entwickeln in dieser Funktion eine transformative und kritische Kraft.
Im projektbezogenen Themencluster „Normen und Ordnungen“ wird der Zusammenhang von Geschlecht und normativen Ordnungen sowohl aus historisch-analytischer als auch aus normativ-kritischer Perspektive mit Blick auf Theoriebildungen und politische Strukturen insbesondere in der Schweiz und in der MENA-Region reflektiert.

Abgeschlossene Cluster

Geschlecht - Kultur - Differenz (2010 - 2017)

Seit der Kolonialzeit spielen Geschlecht und Sexualität eine wichtige Rolle in hegemonialen Selbst- und Fremdkonstruktionen. In einer zunehmend globalisierten Welt werden sie verstärkt zum Gegenstand politischer Interventionen und kulturalisierender Repräsentationen. Der Forschungsbereich „Geschlecht und Konstruktionen kultureller Differenz“ bündelt interdisziplinäre Projekte und Aktivitäten zu Fragen von Geschlecht in transfer- und verflechtungsgeschichtlicher Perspektive. Das spezifische Profil der Gender Studies an der UZH mit seiner geistes- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung einerseits, dem aussereuropäischen Schwerpunkt andererseits bildet hierfür den Hintergrund.