Inter-University Gender Studies Doctoral Program

The Gender Studies Doctoral Program is offered in close collaboration with the Universities of Basel and Bern. The thematic emphasis in Zurich is on the configurations of gender, performativity, and embodiment.

Configurations of Gender, Performativity, and Embodiment

The DoPro Gender Studies research framework is composed of configurations, conceptualisations, aestheticisations, and practices of sex/gender, with the core focus set on the constellation of performativity and embodiment. This focus proves especially productive in the analysis of aesthetic, political, and epistemological discourses. Theories of performativity assume that social, psychological, political, cultural, and aesthetical phenomena are not just something to be “decoded”; rather, they produce reality. A scientific epistemological interest of this paradigm is the understanding of sex and gender as a result of norms and regulated – or, respectively, regulating – practices.

The constellation of performativity and embodiment – as it has evolved in key research fields in the humanities, in text and visual sciences, in the social sciences as well as in philosophical contexts – opens up a score of new interdisciplinary interfaces. These range from investigations of various traces of, and metaphors for, bodies in textual and visual conceptualizations, to observations of concrete corporeal practices in the creation of social artefacts and the analysis of institutionalized, legally tinged terms such as “corporate body”, and to research into regulating interventions into corporeality and gender. The approaches of both Queer Studies and Critical Race Studies are thus particularly significant impulses for the DoPro Gender Studies. Moreover, the constellation of performativity and embodiment also makes it possible to ask, and to elaborate on, questions about the nature and boundaries of bodies. As a consequence, new constellations in gender research arise as a counterpoint to – as well as in – the natural, social and technical sciences.

Current Lectures:
Courses and Activities of the DoPro Gender Studies Spring Semester 19 (PDF, 1468 KB)
Course catalog

Coordination and General Information about the Doctoral Program

PD Dr. Katrin Meyer

Interuniversitäres Doktoratsprogramm Gender Studies

Das Doktoratsprogramm Gender Studies an der Universität Zürich wird in enger Kooperation mit den Universitäten Basel und Bern angeboten. Der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt in Zürich liegt auf Konfigurationen von Geschlecht, Performativität und Verkörperung.

Konfigurationen von Geschlecht. Performativität und Verkörperung

 

Den Forschungsrahmen des DoPro Gender Studies bilden Konfigurationen, Konzeptualisierungen, Ästhetisierungen und Praktiken von Geschlecht/Gender, wobei die Konstellation von Performativität und Verkörperung im Zentrum steht. Sie ist für die Untersuchung ästhetischer, politischer wie epistemologischer Diskurse besonders produktiv. Theorien des Performativen gehen davon aus, dass soziale, psychische, politische, kulturelle sowie ästhetische Phänomene nicht nur zu ‚entziffern‘ sind, sondern Wirklichkeit herstellen. Ein wissenschaftliches Erkenntnisinteresse dieses Paradigmas liegt darin, Geschlecht und Gender als Resultat von Normen und regulierten bzw. regulierenden Praktiken zu verstehen.

Die Konstellation von Performativität und Verkörperung, wie sie in prominenten Forschungsfeldern der Geisteswissenschaften, in Text- und Bildwissenschaften, in sozialwissenschaftlichen wie in philosophischen Kontexten entwickelt worden sind, eröffnet eine Reihe neuer interdisziplinärer Anschlussstellen. Diese reichen von Untersuchungen diverser Körperspuren und -metaphern in Text- und Bildbegriffen über die Beobachtung von konkreten körperlichen Praktiken bei der Entstehung gesellschaftlicher Artefakte und die Analyse institutionell-rechtlich gefärbter Begriffe wie ‚Körperschaft‘ bis zur Erforschung regulierender Eingriffe in Körperlichkeit und Geschlecht selbst. Insbesondere die Ansätze der Queer Studies sowie der Critical Race Studies geben dem DoPro Gender Studies daher wichtige Impulse. Schliesslich eröffnet die Konstellation Performativität und Verkörperung auch die Perspektive, Fragen nach der Beschaffenheit und Begrenzung von Körpern zu stellen und zu bearbeiten. Dadurch ergeben sich neue Konstellationen der Geschlechterforschung gegenüber bzw. in Natur-, Sozial- und Technikwissenschaften.
 

Aktuelle Lehrveranstaltungen, Tagungen und Workshops:
Programm des DoPro Gender Studies im FS 2020 (aktualisiert März 2020) (PDF, 1472 KB)

Programm Queer as Method in Chinese Studies FS 2020 (PDF, 54 KB)

Veranstaltungen des interuniversitären Doktoratsprogramms FS 2020 (aktualisiert März 2020) (PDF, 869 KB)

Koordination und allgemeine Auskünfte zum Doktoratsprogramm

Prof. Dr. Katrin Meyer

Planungsleitung

Prof. Dr. Bettina Dennerlein und Prof. Dr. Angelika Malinar